Join the Movement

2013-join-the-movement-image

 

 

This week April 21-April 27th is National Infertility Awareness Week. I am so glad that there is a week out of the year dedicated to raise awareness about this topic, since a few years ago it was considered “taboo.”

I never thought I would be apart of the infertility community as well as having lost a child in early pregnancy. Talk about a double whammy.

I kicked off this week by attending the 9th Annual KinderMourn Hope Floats Duck Race at the White Water Center. Kindermourn is a wonderful non-profit organization that provides services and support to families who have suffered a loss of a child in early pregnancy, during pregnancy or after pregnancy.  At this event you  made a donation and “adopted” rubber ducks in memory of your loved one. This event had 10,000+ people show up and 20,000 rubber ducks were dropped into the river in memory of our sweet angels. The winning duck received $3,500!!

ducks

ducks1

Mark and I had a wonderful time, we met up with my friend Tasha and her husband( I recently blogged about her, she lost her sweet son 5 days after delivery) and we were surrounded by people who have all experienced some type of loss. This weekend was not one of my greatest, I was having a hard time with everything and going back to that dark place, but attending this event with Tasha and being around people who understand really brought me back to a good place. Tasha and her husband are one of the most positive couples I have ever met, being around them makes me feel at ease knowing that despite the loss of their son, you would never know hanging out with them, what they just went through a few weeks ago. She is empowering and I am so thankful she walked into my store that day!

 This week is all about speaking out and telling your story. As well as educating friends and family of couples going through this. You never know who could be going through this, it could be a co-worker, a neighbor, an acquaintance, an old highschool friend and one day it could even be you. Infertility affects 7.3 million people in the U.S. This figure represents 12% of women of childbearing age, or 1 in 8 couples.

 Speak out. Support your loved ones.Be Strong.Have Faith.

Until Next Time…

signature 

 

 

Leave a Reply

