One Year

oneyearago

I came across this on Pinterest the other day and it really hit me. I know I talked a lot about the past year in my last post but this quote made me think.

It made me think about all of the people who have left and entered my life. It made me sad and happy at the same time.  I have lost touch with many people who I thought I would be friends with forever, but it just like high school.  Everyone moves on and looses touch and it’s not anybody’s fault..its just how life goes. But there are some friendships that I am very disappointed and I have thought long and hard about if it was my fault or not and these are the ones that make me sad but at the same time, I will not dwell over something I have no control of.  People inspire you, or they drain you, and I have learned to pick wisely. I start to think about all of the new people who have entered my life in the past year. Some of them I have known for a few years but we all went through the same thing this past year, some of them even more. These are the women/people/couples that I give all the credit too. Although I may not be best friends with them, I care about them as I would a best friend.  What I have learned from this, is that God puts people in your life and he takes some away but its all in his plan and I am okay with that.  I will continue to rally around the people who support me and cheer me on in this life.

It made me think about how I had so many great memories and moments, but also had some of my darkest days and moments. I could very easily say that the last year was the worst of my life, but was it really?  Just because I had a few dark months and had my darkest days, those were just bad times…it wasnt a bad year.  It wasn’t a bad year because I am here, I am healthy and I am blessed. We all are, no matter what you go through in your life, you are blessed. Sometimes its very easy to forget that but it something that we all need to remember.

“Some things you can only learn in the struggle. When it’s easy, when everything is going your way, that doesn’t take any faith”-Joel Osteen

Each day I feel as though I understand more and more the purpose of my life.  I always used to be amazed at people who went through unthinkable tragedy in their life for them only to say they considered it a blessing and that it made them who they are today. I now have a better understanding of this. Going through infertility and loss is a very humbling experience.  Although no one  wants to experience any type of grief, it truly makes you re-evaluate your life. I have realized that I am owed nothing in this life, I deserve none of what I have but yet I have everything I will ever need.  I’m not sure I would have ever grasped this if I did not have to struggle and go through this  type of pain. I have come out the other side a better person and I am very thankful for that.

I know a lot of you are curious about the status of our journey. I have been pretty quiet but I had to take a little break from blogging.  Although blogging has been a life saver for me, it also allowed me to be alone with my thoughts too much which then allows me to be more stressed and anxious then I need to be.  I also feel as though I need to keep some aspects of this private until we have more answers. I hope you all understand and I am still blogging here and there but I will post them along with updates when I feel as though the time is right.

I hope everyone is having a great summer!!

Until Next Time…

signature

One thought on “One Year

  1. Katie- I just want to say what an inspiration you are! I ran across your blog about a month ago. It’s so refreshing to know that I am not alone in this struggle and that there is someone else out there feeling the same way I do. I just want you to know that you are in my prayers. I understand how frustrating, saddening, and discouraging this process is. My husband and I just decided to begin the process of IVF. We have our first consultation on Aug 5th. I just wanted to send a little encouragement your way to let you know that you are not alone! I pray that God will bless you on your journey!

Leave a Reply

