Get Up, Dress Up, & Show Up

Well Hello! It’s been a long time since my last post. Truthfully, my days are just far too short and I spend every minute that I am not at work soaking up motherhood. There is truly nothing like it. I wish I had time every day to document my time with that little boy of mine because every day truly is an adventure.

Please take a moment to click the link below, scroll down and watch the video.

A Gift

This video popped up on my news feed this morning and I have probably watched it a 100+ times. If this doesn’t inspire you to get up, dress up, show up and be the best person you can be every single day because you are CAPABLE...I don’t know what will. Sure, there are plenty of days I feel like I am drowning in the midst of a full time corporate job, being a mother and a wife. I cannot keep my house clean no matter how many countless hours I spend cleaning, nor can I keep up with the endless piles of laundry. On a normal day my house looks like a tornado full of toys, clothes, dog food and smelly socks rampaged through it in a blink of an eye thanks to that little toddler of mine. I cant remember the last time I cooked a meal for my husband and on top of all of that I am tired. Motherhood = tired.

Most days I feel like a walking zombie at work (and look like one too) from being up at all hours of the night with Beckham. I never realized that almost 22 months later I would still be getting just about the same amount of sleep I was getting as when he was a newborn. But you know what? I am able to spend those wee hours of the night laughing and sometimes crying with him because I’m so tired. I am able to wake up everyday and get another shot at life, at motherhood, at my job and so many other things that SO many people around the world are not able to do because of a sickness or a loss.

Of course we like to think some days, weeks, months are better than others but the perspective of this video is clear. Every day, every second you are alive and breathing is a gift. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again and again and again. If you are in good health, you have everything. The world is at your feet and its your choice what you decide to do with it.

It’s so easy to get lost and overwhelmed in some of the daunting tasks that we as mothers face on a daily basis. We have the weight of the world on our shoulders and we are the glue that keeps our family together. The pressure to be the perfect wife and mother is everywhere we turn along with the reminders that tell us we are not.  But mamas- please remember this- We don’t have to be perfect everyday but we need to strive to make each day perfect. Let go of the burden of the dirty house, or the baby pudge that wont disappear, who cares if you don’t make it to the gym as often as you should, grab take out, pour the glass of wine.( or 3 ,or 4) binge watch your favorite shows once your baby is asleep. (if you can stay awake that is)

I find too often all of these tasks/chores that I “should be” doing are constantly clouding my mind full of guilt and stealing precious moments from my son. Don’t just spend time with your kids. Put down the phone, turn off the TV and soak up every single belly laugh, high five and toothy smile they give you. Be PRESENT because each moment you have on this earth is a gift.

 Praying for Joey , Rory and that beautiful baby girl of theirs. ❤

12181090_10102203310590077_1387812646_o

Until Next Time..

(I promise it wont be so long again!)

signature

Leave a Reply

